Zebo back but no Bowe for Ireland

//Zebo back but no Bowe for Ireland

Zebo back but no Bowe for Ireland

Updated: Sunday, 02 Mar 2014 18:39 | Comments

Simon Zebo has been recalled to the Ireland squad

Simon Zebo has been recalled to the Ireland squad



Simon Zebo has been named in Ireland’s 33-man squad for Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations clash with Italy but the game has come too soon for Tommy Bowe.

Bowe scored two tries after making his return from a groin injury in Ulster’s 38-8 win over Dragons on Friday but felt some tightness after the game and is following a “staged return to play programme”, according to an IRFU statement.

Munster winger Zebo has earned a recall, following a run of fine form, as Ulster’s Robbie Diack and Leinster’s Richardt Strauss also join the squad.

Centre Darren Cave replaces Ulster team-mate Luke Marshall while Munster pair Felix Jones (knee) and Tommy O’Donnell (stinger) miss out through injury.

Isaac Boss has been rested after a heavy recent programme.

Forwards (19)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)
Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Backs (14)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

RTÉ Sport sport headlines

By | 2014-03-02T21:37:01+00:00 March 2nd, 2014|Sport|0 Comments